Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Hauptnavigation.


Zertifikat "audit berufundfamilie"


Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Networking

The central feature of the GradAB programme is the strong network that links GradAB doctoral students with other GradAB participants, with researchers at the IAB and FAU, with the external scientific community, and with political stakeholders. Doctoral students have the opportunity to attend scientific conferences, participate in national and international research visits, or to do an internship at a political or social organisation.

Networking within the IAB

o encourage "internal" networking, all doctoral students are provided with a workplace at the IAB. If no other arrangements have been made, doctoral students are allocated to the research department of their mentor (organisational chart).

A mutual exchange between doctoral students takes place at the monthly GradAB Colloquia. At this forum, which is organised by the doctoral students, participants discuss methodological or theoretical problems in an informal atmosphere, practice presentations, and discuss further issues.

The annual GradAB retreat offers to doctoral students the opportunity for intensive scientific exchange and helps participants to get to know each other better (impressions from the GradAB excursion 2017).

Networking with the scientific community

In order to expand their network with the scientific community, doctoral students are encouraged to participate in national and international academic conferences, where they can discuss their research results with external scientists and receive stimulus from the projects of external researchers. Scholarship holders receive an individual budget for this (currently 1,800 Euros per year).

In addition, doctoral students have the opportunity to participate in research visits at national and international research institutions if these are closely related to the subject of the doctoral thesis. During a research visit, scholarship holders continue to receive their payments, which count as part of the agreed period of financial support. For research stays abroad, scholarship holders can apply for a grant supplement.

The GradAB programme supports research visits between one week and three months, and it provides doctoral students with contacts of its worldwide network of renowned universities as well as research and policy institutions. Previous research stays include visits at the University of California (Berkeley), the University of Michigan, Boston University, the University of Melbourne, London School of Economics, Tilburg University, and at the Institute for Social and Economic Research (Essex).

The GradAB doctoral students organise an annual PhD workshop entitled “Perspectives on (Un-) Employment”, where national and international junior researchers of various disciplines present their work in the field of labour market research. Moreover, junior researchers have the opportunity to make contact with high-rank keynote Speakers (Ph.D. workshop 2017).

Networking with political stakeholders and with Public Employment Services

The IAB is an independent research institute of the Federal Employment Agency and has the central task of providing scientific-grounded policy advice. The IAB advices policy makers and practitioners, and in particular the public employment services. The GradAB programme offers the opportunity of short-term internships at our partners’ within the labour market administration.

In addition, GradAB doctoral students benefit from existing IAB contacts to ministries at the state and at the national level, and to international organisations, in which doctoral students can be placed for internships between one week and three months. Previous GradAB students completed internships for instance at the ILO or at the OECD.

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.

Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Hauptnavigation.


Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Vernetzung

Zentraler Bestandteil des GradAB-Programms ist die Vernetzung der Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer untereinander, mit dem IAB, der FAU und der externen scientific community, sowie mit politischen Akteuren. Die Promovierenden haben die Möglichkeit, wissenschaftliche Konferenzen und Forschungsaufenthalte im In- und Ausland sowie Praktika bei politischen und gesellschaftlichen Institutionen zu absolvieren.

Vernetzung innerhalb des IAB

Zur Unterstützung des regelmäßigen internen Austausches wird allen Promovierenden ein Arbeitsplatz im IAB zur Verfügung gestellt. Soweit keine andere Vereinbarung besteht, sind die Promovierenden dem Forschungsbereich ihres Mentors/ihrer Mentorin zugeordnet.

Ein wechselseitiger Austausch zwischen den Promovierenden findet in den monatlich stattfindenden GradAB-Colloquien statt. In diesem von den Promovierenden organisierten Forum diskutieren die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer informell über methodische oder theoretische Probleme, halten Probevorträge und besprechen sonstige Fragen.

Die jährlich stattfindende GradAB-Klausur bietet den Promovierenden Raum für einen intensiven wissenschaftlichen Austausch und trägt zum besseren gegenseitigen Kennenlernen der Promovierenden untereinander bei (Impressionen von der GradAB-Klausur 2017).

Vernetzung mit der scientific community

Um sich mit der scientific community zu vernetzen, wird die Teilnahme der Promovierenden an wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen im In- und Ausland gefördert. Dort können sie ihre Forschungsergebnisse mit externen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern diskutieren und Anregungen aus deren Forschungsarbeiten gewinnen. Hierfür steht den Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten ein individuelles Budget zur Verfügung (zur Zeit 1.800 Euro pro Jahr).

Zudem werden Forschungsaufenthalte der Promovierenden an wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen im In- und Ausland unterstützt, sofern diese in engem fachlichen Zusammenhang mit der Promotion stehen. Für Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten wird die Zahlung des Stipendiums während eines Forschungsaufenthaltes fortgesetzt und auf die vereinbarte Förderdauer angerechnet. Auf Antrag kann für Aufenthalte im Ausland eine Aufstockung des Stipendiums gewährt werden.

Das GradAB-Programm unterstützt Forschungsaufenthalte zwischen einer Woche und drei Monaten und vermittelt Kontakte seines weltweiten Netzwerks aus renommierten Universitäten und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen. Bisherige Forschungsaufenthalte von Promovierenden erfolgten beispielsweise an der University of California (Berkeley), University of Michigan, Boston University, University of Melbourne, London School of Economics, Tilburg University und am Institute for Social and Economic Research (Essex).

Die Promovierenden organisieren einmal jährlich den Ph.D.-Workshop "Perspectives on Umployment", auf dem Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler unterschiedlicher Disziplinen aus dem In- und Ausland ihre Arbeiten aus dem Bereich der Arbeitsmarktforschung vorstellen und wertvolle Kontakte zu hochrangigen Keynote Speakers knüpfen können (Ph.D. Workshop 2018).

Vernetzung mit der Arbeitsverwaltung und politischen Akteuren

Das IAB als unabhängiges Forschungsinstitut der Bundesagentur für Arbeit hat die zentrale Aufgabe der wissenschaftlich fundierten Politikberatung. Zu den zahlreichen Adressaten aus Politik und Praxis zählt insbesondere auch die Arbeitsverwaltung selbst. Das GradAB-Programm bietet die Möglichkeit von Praktika bzw. Hospitationen bei unseren Partnern aus der Arbeitsverwaltung.

Darüber hinaus profitieren GradAB-Promovierende von den Kontakten des IAB zu Ministerien der Bundes- und den Landesregierungen und internationalen Organisationen, in denen programmbegleitende Praktika zwischen einer Woche und drei Monaten vermittelt werden. Bisher absolvierten GradAB-Promovierende beispielsweise Praktika bei der ILO und der OECD.

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.