Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Hauptnavigation.


Zertifikat "audit berufundfamilie"


Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Establishments, Qualification and Occupations

Research perspectives

Qualifications, occupations and establishments are inextricably interwoven in the German labour market. Their properly functioning interaction is a crucial determinant of individual income and employment opportunities, as well as of business success.

Individuals acquire their competences not only by means of school, vocational or university education; qualifications obtained in the course of their professional life also matter a lot. In this context, businesses are of particular significance due to their dual function, involving demand for workforce with various qualifications on the one hand, and supply of vocational and further training on the other.

In the course of technological progress, demographic change and globalisation, both individuals and businesses face changes to the working and professional world going hand in hand with the new qualification requirements. In this rapidly changing realm of work, along with initial training, the process of lifelong learning and qualification is gaining in importance.

Against this backdrop, the focus "Establishments, qualification and occupations" addresses the issues of the determinants of companies' demand for labour, correlations between education, qualification and labour market opportunities, as well as occupational structuring of the labour market. An important part in this consideration is played by digitisation and its impact on the in-company work organisation, on the occupations and their job patterns, as well as on the requirements to the employees' competences.

The IAB Establishment Panel is a central research instrument on the part of the business; it is an annual survey among some 16 thousand of companies on various issues of in-company business and personnel policy, co-determination and development of employment, complemented by interlinking with individual data. A new dataset is the IAB-ZEW-business survey by the Institute for Employment Research (IAB) and the Centre for European Economic Research (ZEW) on the range of topics of World of Work 4.0. combined with the employees data in order to enable holistic consideration of labour supply and demand.

At the individual level, survey data are used along with the process data of the Federal Employment Agency. The focus thus includes the cohorts stages of the National Educational Panel Study (NEPS), a large-scale representative panel study with annual surveys on life and career development, education processes of adults, and lifelong learning.

Research Departments

Research Group

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.

Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Betriebe, Qualifizierung und Berufe

Forschungsperspektive

Qualifizierung, Beruf und Betriebe sind auf dem deutschen Arbeitsmarkt eng miteinander verflochten. Ihr funktionierendes Zusammenspiel ist eine wesentliche Determinante der individuellen Einkommens- und Beschäftigungschancen und des betrieblichen Erfolgs.

Individuen erwerben ihre Kompetenzen nicht nur durch schulische, berufliche und universitäre Bildung, sondern auch durch die im Laufe des Arbeitslebens erworbenen Qualifikationen. Den Betrieben kommt dabei durch ihre Doppelrolle als Nachfrager nach Arbeitskräften mit unterschiedlichen Qualifikationen sowie als Anbieter von Aus- und Weiterbildung eine besondere Bedeutung zu.

Im Zuge des technologischen Fortschritts, des demografischen Wandels und der Globalisierung vollzieht sich sowohl für Individuen als auch für Betriebe ein Wandel der Arbeits- und Berufswelt, der mit neuen Qualifikationsanforderungen einhergeht. In dieser sich schnell verändernden Arbeitswelt gewinnt neben der Erstausbildung der Prozess des lebenslangen Lernens und Qualifizierens zunehmend an Bedeutung.

Vor diesem Hintergrund befasst sich der Schwerpunkt „Betriebe, Qualifizierung und Berufe“ mit den Bestimmungsgrößen der betrieblichen Nachfrage nach Arbeitskräften, den Zusammenhängen von Bildung, Qualifizierung und Arbeitsmarktchancen sowie der beruflichen Strukturierung des Arbeitsmarktes. Eine wichtige Rolle spielen dabei die Digitalisierung und ihre Folgen für die betriebliche Arbeitsorganisation, für Berufe und deren Tätigkeitsmuster und für die Anforderungen an die Kompetenzen der Beschäftigten.

Zentrales Forschungsinstrument auf der Betriebsseite ist das IAB-Betriebspanel, eine jährlich durchgeführte Befragung von rund 16 Tausend Betrieben zu verschiedenen Themen der betrieblichen Geschäfts- und Personalpolitik, Mitbestimmung und Beschäftigungsentwicklung, das durch die Verknüpfung mit Individualdaten bereichert wird. Ein neuer Datensatz ist die IAB-ZEW-Betriebsbefragung zum Themenkomplex Arbeitswelt 4.0., die mit Beschäftigtendaten kombiniert wird, um Arbeitsangebot und Arbeitsnachfrage gemeinsam zu betrachten.

Auf der Personenebene werden neben Prozessdaten der Bundesagentur für Arbeit auch Befragungsdaten herangezogen. So ist im Schwerpunkt die Erwachsenenetappe des Nationalen Bildungspanels (NEPS) angesiedelt, eine groß angelegte, repräsentative Panelstudie mit jährlichen Erhebungen zu Lebens- und Erwerbsverläufen, Bildungsprozessen im Erwachsenenalter und lebenslangem Lernen.

Forschungsbereich

Forschungsgruppe

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.